Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Conservative MPs appointed DEFRA, DECC and planning ministers

Three Conservative MPs have been appointed Ministers of State in the government’s two environmental departments.

Charles Hendry and Gregory Barker are the new Energy and Climate Change Ministers under Liberal Democrat Chris Huhne, while James Paice has been awarded the ministerial portfolio for Envrionment, Food and Rural Affairs under the Secretary of State Caroline Spelman.

The promotion of the three Conservatives mirrors their role in opposition. Paice’s promotion to Minister of State follows his tenure as Shadow Agriculture Minister during the Conservative Party’s days in opposition, while Charles Hendry has served as Shadow Energy and Climate Change Secretary since 2008.

In addition to the Ministers, Conservatives Richard Benyon MP and Lord Henley have been apppointed Parliamentary Under Secretaries of State in the Department for Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA).

Despite the appointments, it is not known at this stage what specific ministerial portfolios the three new Ministers will have.

The appointments appear to leave senior Liberal Democrats Simon Hughes (who held the Shadow Climate Change Secretary position) and Shadow Environment Spokesman Tim Farron without roles in the new coalition cabinet.

In addition to the appointments at the environmental departments, Conservative Grant Shapps is the new Minister for Housing and Planning at the Department for Communities and Local Government. His new position comes after three years spent on the Conservative front bench as Shadow Housing Minister.


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.