Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Defra announces new ministers

The Prime Ministers office has announced that Phil Woolas is the new Minister of State for the Department of Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra). He has moved from the Department for Communities and Local Government, where he was the Minister for Local Government and Community Cohesion. Lord Rooker will stay at Defra as Minister of State. Departmental responsibilities are to be confirmed.

Recycling advocate Joan Ruddock MP also joined Defra as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State as did Jonathan Shaw MP, who left his position as Government Whip to be Parliamentary Under Secretary of State and Minister for the South East.  Former Defra Waste minister Ben Bradshaw has moved to the Department of Health as the Minister of State and Minister for the South West.

These changes follow the announcement of Hilary Benn as Environment Secretary on June 28.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.