Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Defra revamps Packaging Committee membership

Defra has appointed ten new members to its Advisory Committee on Packaging (ACP) after selecting a new chair in December.

The ACP was relaunched in 2010 to advise Defra on the packaging recycling targets under the producer responsibility regime.

The new committee members are:

Jonathan Short, ECO Plasticsplastics, reprocessors and exporters
Martin Cooper, Sitawaste management sector
Adrian Hawkes, Valpakcompliance schemes
Andrew Bird, LARAClocal authorities
Roger Walton, Dover District Councillocal authorities
Garvin Freeman, Tata Steelsteel and reprocessors
Rebecca Cocking, British Glassglass and secondary converter
Rick Hindley, Aluproaluminium and secondary converter
Andrew Speck, HAVI Global Solutionsretail and independent consultants
Simon Stringer, Nipak and Scotpaksmall compliance schemes


Andrew Bird, chair of the Local Authority Recycling Advisory Committee, said: ‘It is a great honour to be appointed to the ACP allowing me to represent the views of local authorities.

“It is clear to me that there is a positive wish throughout the supply chain to make sure the resources we produce, sell, and use, are not disposed of but reused or recycled in a sustainable way.

“The problem is how we make this happen, and I believe this committee is the right vehicle to making these wishes come to fruition.”

The waste and resources industry widely greeted the appointment of 360 environmental director Phil Conran as chair of the ACP in December.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.