Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Election of select committee chairs completed

The outstanding chairs of the Parliamentary select committees that oversee the work of Whitehall departments have been announced following ballots at Westminster.

The Environmental Audit Committee will be headed by Labour’s Huw Irranca-Davies, above, who was a junior minister in the last Labour Government and a shadow minister for Defra during the last administration.

The committee considers how Government policies and programmes contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development, and it audits performance against targets in those areas.

Fellow Labour MP Iain Wright will chair the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee.

No election was necessary for 11 of the 26 committees where only a single MP was nominated. These included Efra, which covers Defra, which went to Conservative MP Neil Parish.

Other committees with unopposed chairs were Communities and Local Government (Clive Betts, Labour) and Energy and Climate Change (Angus MacNeil, SNP).

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.