Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Finalists announced for National Recycling Awards 2009

The finalists for the prestigious National Recycling Awards have been announced.

Over 170 entries, from across  UK industry and the public sector, were received and the judges have whittled these down to a shortlist.

MRW editor Paul Sanderson said: The National Recycling Awards has been going for over ten years now and year after year the standard of entries gets higher. By moving the Awards to a permanent London home, we have expanded the range of entries we received.

The calibre of submissions from across the UK, and not just the recycling industry, shows that there is a huge passion and commitment to recycling and waste management in this country. It was really difficult for the judges and myself to pick finalists, never mind winners!

The National Recycling Awards is the perfect opportunity to celebrate the creativity and innovation of the recycling and waste sector, and weve introduced new categories such as

Recycling and Waste Management Business of the Year to do that, but it also recognises businesses and public sector organisations from every spectrum that are doing more than just their bit.

I look forward to the winners being announced on the night at what I am sure will be a fantastic celebration.

Judges included: Adams Consultancy Services director Julie-Ann Adams, INCPEN director Jane Bickerstaffe, WRAP director of business growth Steve Creed, London Borough of Haringey councillor Brian Haley, AEA practice knowledge leader Professor Adam Read and MRW editor Paul Sanderson.

MRW is still accepting nominations for the Lifetime Achievement Awards. Email your nominations to

The awards will be held at the Hilton on Park Lane, London on 27 October 2009. If you would like to attend, visit for more information.

The finalists are:

Best New Technology Award

* Bioflame
* Econoplas - Aquadyne
* G3S
* REY - Vibraglaz
* Sterecycle
* Tesco Stores & Tomra Systems ASA

Best Partnership Project for Recycling

* Aberdeen City Council - Business Bio fuels
* Blaby District Council & MIND
* The Precycle Group, Help the Aged/Age Concern & 1st Waste Management Consultants
* Southampton City Council & Bagitup
* South Lanarkshire Council & South Lanarkshire Rural Development Trust
* Surrey County Council, Coca Cola Enterprises & Recoup

Best Recycled Product

* 2K Manufacturing - Ecosheet
* - Bannerbag
* Econoplas - Aquadyne
* GRB (Ground Reinforcement Block) - i-plas Innovative Recycling Technology
* REY - Vibraglaz cones
* Wrekin Windows - First energy efficient PVC-U window manufactured from 98 per cent recycled material

Construction Recycler of the Year

* Cantillon
* Clancy Docwra
* The Gelder Group
* Prowaste Management Services
* Safestyle Manufacturing & Logistics UK
* Wrekin Windows

Electrical and Electronic Equipment Recycler of the Year

* Midex Reverse Technologies
* Sims Recycling Solutions
* Specialist Computer Holdings (SCH)
* West Sussex County Council
* WISER Recycling
* Viridor

Innovation in Health and Safety Practises

* Lookers
* Three Rivers District Council
* Veolia Environmental Services Southwark

Local Authority Target Success

* London Borough of Bexley
* North Hertfordshire District Council
* Staffordshire Moorlands District Council
* Rochford District Council
* Rutland County Council

Local Authority Team of the Year

* Banbridge District Council
* London Borough of Bexley
* North Yorkshire County Council
* Somerset Waste Partnership (SWP)
* Three Rivers District Council
* Torbay Council
* Vale of Glamorgan Council

Public Sector Recycling Achievement Award

* Army London District and Corp. George Richardson, Cavalry Barracks
* British Waterways
* Leicester College
* London School of Economics and Political Science
* Royal Brompton Hospital & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust
* Tipton Litter Watch
* The University of Manchester

Recycled Packaging of the Year

* Greenstar WES - HDPE
* PFF - rPET100
* Synthetic Packaging Skip Bags
* WarreMarketing CD Bags


Recycling and Waste Management Business of the Year

* First Mile
* Greenstar UK
* PDM Group
* Powerday
* Sterecycle
* Viridor

Retail Recycler of the Year

* BrightHouse
* Gunwharf Quays Management
* Home Retail Group (Argos & Homebase)
* The Precycle Group, Help the Aged/Age Concern & 1st Waste Management Consultants
* Tesco Stores and Tomra Systems ASA

Small Business Recycler of the Year

* Cambrian Printers
* Safe Data Destruction
* Junk It
* Leap Media
* WISER Recycling

The Waste Minimisation Award

* BaxterStorey
* GlaxoSmithKline (GSK)
* Hyndburn Borough Council (HBC)
* Home Retail Group (Argos & Homebase)
* Strattons Hotel, Swaffham, Norfolk
* North London Waste Authority (NLWA)


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.