Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Higher profile for waste following Kennedy appointment

Jane Kennedy is to replace Joan Ruddock as Environment Minister in the new Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs(Defra) ministerial line-up.

The Liverpool Wavertree MP is to be given the recycling and waste brief as part of her portfolio as Minister for Farming and Environment. She will also be responsible for the Environment Agency.

Recycling and waste will be given a higher profile within Defra as Kennedy holds a more senior role as Minister of State than that previously held by Ruddock, who was a Parliamentary Under Secretary of State. Ruddock has now moved to the new Department for Energy and Climate Change (DECC).

This means that despite the creation of DECC, much of the recycling and waste policy will stay with Defra.

A Defra spokeswoman said: Things like the Waste Strategy will remain the responsibility of Defra. It was only the climate change department that has moved to DECC. Although waste is linked to CO2 emissions, it is a broader issue affecting consumers and landfill targets.

Meanwhile, the Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform will keep responsibility for batteries, waste electronic and electrical equipment and scrap vehicles.

Kennedy has moved to Defra from the Treasury where she was Financial Secretary to the Treasury. This role will be seen as a promotion from a third ranked minister in the Treasury to a second ranked minister behind Environment Secretary Hilary Benn. Born in 1958 in Cumbria, Kennedy has been an MP since 1992 and her interests are believed to include walking, dog training and horse riding.

The new ministerial line up for Defra, BERR and DECC:

Hilary Benn will remain as Environment Minister
Minister for Farming and the Environment Jane Kennedy,
Minister Lord Hunt (of Kings Heath) will hold a joint position with the
Department of Energy and Climate Change. A spokeswoman for Defra added that the departments are expected to work closely together due to close links on climate change
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Huw Irranca-Davies

Peter Mandelson joins BERR as Secretary of State replacing John Hutton
Minister of State Pat McFadden
Minister of State Gareth Thomas will hold a joint position with the Department for
International Development
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Ian Pearson will hold a joint position with the Treasury
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Stephen Carter will hold a joint position with the Department for Culture, Media and Sport
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Baroness Shriti Vadera will hold a joint position with the Cabinet Office

Minister of State Mike O'Brien
Minister of State Lord Hunt (of Kings Heath) will hold a joint position with Defra
Parliamentary Under Secretary of State Joan Ruddock


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.