Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

National Recycling Awards 2011: winners revealed

Winners for the National Recycling Awards 2011 were announced at a prestigious awards ceremony at the London Hilton, Park Lane, last night.

The National Recycling Awards, brought to you by MRW in association with UPM, recognise the best of the UK’s recycling and waste management industry. These annual awards continue to reward and support the efforts of local authorities and councils, as well as the construction and retail sectors, with the waste management community fully recognised, rewarded and represented.

This year’s event was a huge success with comedian, actor and satirist, Marcus Brigstocke, presenting the awards. More recycling and waste management professionals attended than ever before, reflecting the growing nature of the industry. Over 660 people came together to celebrate and reward the impressive work on display in this ever expanding sector.

MRW acting editor Andrea Lockerbie said: “Winning a National Recycling Award is an amazing achievement. Each year the standard and number of entries and gets higher and higher, making it a tough job for the judges to pick out a winner. My congratulations go to all of our very deserving winners, and our finalists should feel equally proud of their success too.”

The Lifetime Achievement awards went to Phillip Ward (pictured), formerly of WRAP, who was recognised for his dedication to the transformation of the waste and recycling sector.

Photos from the night can be viewed at the National Recycling Awards website or here via our flickr photostream.

The full list of winners is detailed below:

Materials Recycler of the Year
Sponsored by TITECH    
Winner: Elixir Group      
Highly Commended: Environmental Business Products    

Local Authority Target Success
Winner: Surrey Heath Borough Council – Project Roary 

Local Authority Team of the Year
Sponsored by UPM – The Biofore Company        
Winner: Lichfield District and Tamworth Borough Councils           

Electrical and Electronic Equipment Recycler of the Year
Sponsored by Repic        
Winner: Fife Council, Building Services  
Highly Commended: Recolight    

Construction Recycler of the Year
Winner: BAM Nuttall     

Vehicle, Plant or Equipment Supplier of the Year
Sponsored by: B&M Waste Services        
Winner: Dennis Eagle    

The Waste Minimisation Award
Sponsored by: Recolight              
Winner: Plastic Surgeon – Fine Finishing               

Retail Recycler of the Year
Sponsored by: Viridor   
Winner: Marks & Spencer           

Business Recycler of the Year
Sponsored by Shanks Waste Management         
Winner: Indesit Company Logistics          

Best Recycled Product
Sponsored by Hadfield Wood Recyclers 
Winner: 4Recycling – Potassic Lime         

Best New Technology Award
Winner: Enval - Recycling of Laminated Packaging Materials        
Highly Commended: IMC               

Waste to Energy Provider of the Year
Sponsored by: Machtech Services            
Winner: BiogenGreenfinch         

Best Partnership Project for Recycling
Sponsored by: Palm Recycling   
Winner: Packaging Recycling - Marks & Spencer and Somerset Waste Partnership            

Recycling and Waste Management Business of the Year
Sponsored by:  Qurius   
Winner: Closed Loop Recycling 

Lifetime Achievement
Sponsored by: Aylesford Newsprint        
Winner: Phillip Ward      

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.