Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

NWRWMG announces shortlist of bidders for £500m PPP waste contract

Northern Irelands North West Region Waste Management Group has announced the shortlist of bidders through to the next stage of its £500 million public private partnership contract to deliver new waste plants for the area.

The four shortlisted bidders are:

  • Biffa Waste Services;
  • Brickklin Waste/United Utilities;
  • Greenstar Holding and
  • One51/VT Environmental Engineering.

NWRWMG, is made up of seven councils encompassing Derry City Council and Ballymoney Borough Council, and is responsible for delivering new waste infrastructure for the region.

Chairman councillor Evelyne Robinson said: By following a two-pronged approach of boosting recycling levels while developing modern technologies that turn non-recyclable waste into renewable energy we are adopting best practice procedures utilised throughout Europe.

This is one of the largest and most complex procurement projects ever undertaken in the region. Apart form the environmental benefits, the project will also generate construction jobs, produce energy which could be used by industry and homes, and enable the region to avoid potentially severe European Union fines for failing to dramatically reduce our reliance on landfill sites.

The NWRWMG hope to announce the preferred bidder towards the end of 2010. It is hoping to raise recycling and composting rates throughout the region from the current level of 34 per cent to at least 50 per cent, also by 2020.


The NWRWMG region includes:

  • Ballymoney Borough Council
  • Derry City Council
  • Magherafelt District Council
  • Strabane District Council
  • Coleraine Borough Council
  • Limavady Borough Council
  • Moyle District Council

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.