Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

PM appoints new Chair of UK Sustainable Development Comission

Gordon Brown has appointed a new Chair of the UK Sustainable Development Commission.

Will Day will take over from the current Chair Jonathan Porrit on 27 July.

Day said: I am delighted to be asked to Chair the SDC. I take this on at a time of growing public and political understanding of the immense social and environmental pressures that are building up around the world and that affect us all. These realities will require thoughtful and decisive action by government at all levels, business and our wider society.

Days previous roles in his career have been the chief executive of Care International, Chairman of the BBC Children in Need, senior advisor to the United Nations Development Programmes
Growing Business Initiative and the Chairman of the Water and Sanitation for the Urban Poor.

Environment secretary Hilary Benn said: I look forward very much to working with Will in his new and important role. I would like to thank Jonathan Porrit, the outgoing Chair, for his enormous contribution over the last nine years.

The SDC is the Governments independent advisory group on sustainable development. It considers economic, environmental and social impacts when helping to develop Government policy. Not only does it report to the Prime Minister but also, the First Ministers of Scotland and Wales and Northern Ireland.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.