Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Scholarship winners announced

Winners for the Wastepack/Local Authority Recycling Advisory Committee (LARAC) Scholarship Awards have been announced.

The programme offers 12 free places to the annual LARAC conference to those new to waste and recycling, with one place available for each LARAC region and devolved assembly area. Accommodation and travel costs are covered as well as entry to the National Recycling Awards and the LARAC members day.

But with two particularly impressive Scottish applications this year, sponsor Wastepack has agreed to provide additional funding for a 13th place. And as there were no applicants from Northern Ireland, the place will be filled by the highest runner up, Clare Chadwick from West Wiltshire District Council.

LARAC chairman Lee Marshall said: This is a fantastic opportunity for people who are new to recycling to get involved in LARAC, and attend such a major conference at an early stage of their careers. Scholars are asked to keep a diary and the feedback we have had from the past two years has been extremely positive previous scholars have really enjoyed attending and found the experience very valuable.

Confirmation has now been given that the scheme will run again next year, open to recycling officers with under five years experience.


Craig Stephens, North West Leicestershire District Council
Miranda Curme De Vale, Rochford District Council
Katrina Moore, City of London Cooperation
Joanna Lane, Durham County Council
Debbie Derbyshire, Preston City Council
Iain Pickles, Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council
Julie Williams, Taunton Deane Borough Council
Michael Jenkins, Rugby Borough Council
Catherine Hancock, North Yorkshire County Council
Gael-Isla Orr, Orkney Islands Council
Rona Gold, West Lothian Council
Andrew Margrie, Torfaen County Borough Council
Clare Chadwick, West Wiltshire District Council


Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.