Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

Select committee members announced

Parliamentary select committees that oversee the work of Defra, Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) and Energy and Climate Change (DECC) have announced their anticipated members.

Suggested members for 12 watchdogs are due to be approved by the House of Commons later today.

Efra, which oversees the work of Defra, is likely to comprise Sarah Champion, Jim Fitzpatrick, Harry Harpham, Simon Hart, Margaret Ritchie, David Simpson, Rishi Sunak, Rebecca Pow and Paul Monaghan.

The BIS committee membership is expected to be Paul Blomfield, Richard Fuller, Peter Kyle, Amanda Milling, Amanda Solloway, Jo Stevens, Michelle Thomson, Kelly Tolhurst, Craig Tracey and Chris White.

The DECC committee should be Alistair Carmichael, Glyn Davies, James Heappey, Ian Lavery, Melanie Onn, Matthew Pennycook, Daniel Poulter, Antoinette Sandbach, Julian Sturdy and Alan Whitehead.

Other committee members are expected to be announced imminently.

The committee chairs have already been announced.

>The Department for Communities and Local Government announced on 10 June that its chosen members Bob Blackman, Jo Cox, Helen Hayes, Kevin Hollinrake, Julian Knight, David Mackintosh, Mark Prisk, Angela Rayner, Mary Robinson, Alison Thewliss would all be suggested for approval by the House of Commons on 13 July.

Related files

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.