Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

SNP names environment watchdog members

The SNP has chosen its MPs to sit on the select committees which oversee the work of Whitehall departments.

Environmental Audit Committee

The party list includes John McNally (left), who will sit on the Environmental Audit committee (EAC), which, was it was announced in June, will be headed by Labour’s Huw Irranca-Davies.

The watchdog considers how Government policies and programmes contribute to environmental protection and sustainable development, auditing performance against targets in those areas.

The party’s Paul Monaghan will sit on Efra, which covers Defra, chaired by Conservative MP Neil Parish.

Separately, Conservative MP Rebecca Pow revealed on Twitter she will be on Efra, and the information was re-Tweeted by Efra’s account.

Other SNP members include Michelle Thomson who will sit on the Business, Innovation and Skills Committee, chaired by Labour MP Iain Wright.

Alison Thewliss will be part of the Communities and Local Government Committee, chaired by Labour’s Clive Betts

No SNP MPs will sit on the Energy and Climate Change watchdog, which will be chaired by the party’s Angus MacNeil.

Westminster SNP Leader Angus Robertson said: ““The SNP has a huge range of talent in our Westminster parliamentary group and they will make a positive contribution in the committees which play such an important role in holding the Government to account.

The other parties are expected to announce their committee members before chancellor George Osborne’s Budget on 8 July.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.