Your browser is no longer supported

For the best possible experience using our website we recommend you upgrade to a newer version or another browser.

Your browser appears to have cookies disabled. For the best experience of MRW, please enable cookies in your browser

We'll assume we have your consent to use cookies, so you won't need to log in each time you visit our site.
Learn more

ESA elects new chairman

Stewart Davies, chief executive of hazardous waste treatment company Augean, will be the next chairman of the Environmental Services Association (ESA).

He will take over from Cory Environmental deputy chairman Peter Gerstrom at the ESA’s annual meeting on 25 November.

Gerstrom, who also stood down as Cory chief executive last November, has been the association’s chairman for two years.

Davies paid tribute to Gerstrom, describing him in a statement as a “tireless advocate” for the waste industry, who “helped to drive ESA’s agenda forward”.

He said: “I am delighted to be taking over the chairmanship of the ESA at such an important time for our industry. As an £11bn industry investing in cleaner ways to turn Britain’s waste into resources, we can be a major part of the UK’s emerging industrial strategy.

“The ESA has a vital role to play in helping the Government to join up its thinking on waste and resources, so that our member companies have a clear post-Brexit framework in which to bring forward a private sector‐led package of investment in new waste infrastructure worth £10bn.”

Davies has been at Augean since 2013, before which he was managing director of facilities management firm Romec for three years.

He was also a governing board member of Innovate UK From 2009-15, and was business commissioner on the Government’s Sustainable Development Commission from 2006-10.

Have your say

You must sign in to make a comment

Please remember that the submission of any material is governed by our Terms and Conditions and by submitting material you confirm your agreement to these Terms and Conditions. Links may be included in your comments but HTML is not permitted.